kinds of whales

 Types of Dolphins

There are mainly two different types of dolphins.

The first type is those that live in salty ocean waters; and and the second - those that live in freshwater rivers.



Oceanic Dolphins

Poster by AllPosters. Click on thumbnail to buy

Oceanic Dolphins are a large group of whales, all toothed. Some of the best known ones are the  Bottlenose, Common, Spinner, Spotted, Rissos, Irrawaddy, Australian Snubfin, White Beaked, White Sided, Frasers, Clymene, Tuxuci, Humpback, Heavyside, Hectors, and Rough Toothed Dolphins.

Some other well known Oceanic Dolphins are actually called 'whales'. There are Melon Headed Whales, Pilot Whales, Orca, False Killer Whales and Pygmy Killer Whales.

  Pink River Dolphin
Amazon River Dolphin, Pink River Dolphin or Boto Rio Negro, Brazil
Poster by AllPosters. Click on
thumbnail to buy

River Dolphins live in inland rivers (freshwater), or, in one case, in coastal rivers and river mouths (estuarine waters) in Asia and South America.

The species of river dolphins include the South Asian River Dolphin, Amazon River Dolphin (also known as Pink Dolphin), Araguaian, Bolivian and the La Plata Dolphin.

As of December 2006, the Baiji, aka Chinese River Dolphin has been declared extinct.

Go here for a
List of Dolphin Species

Custom Search


What's New

Whale News!

About Us

About Using Content

You Are Secure!

[?] Subscribe To This Site

follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines

Bookmark and Share