Different Kinds of Whales

There are many different kinds of whales.

The world's 70 species of whales are mainly divided into two groups deriving from their food and eating
habits, and consequently, their anatomy

Baleen Whale Species - Mysticeti

"Right Whale Rises to the Water's Surface Exposing its Baleen"
Right Whale Rises to the Water's Surface Exposing its Baleen
Poster by AllPosters. Click on thumbnail to buy

The first group is Baleen Whales - named after the massive baleen that they have in their mouths. It helps them filter their food from the water. Baleen whales are typically very large animals, much larger than the next group below. Blue Whale - the largest animal that has ever lived on the Earth belongs to the Rorqual family.The other two families are Right Whales and Gray Whales.

List of Whale Species

Toothed Whale Species - Odontoceti

   "Killer Whale, Orcinus, Orca Portrait"
Killer Whale, Orcinus Orca Portrait
Poster by AllPosters. Click on
thumbnail to buy

Toothed Whales are active hunters and meat eaters. They get their food by chasing and catching fish and larger animals like seals and sea lions. Being active hunters, they need to move fast and their bodies are therefore much smaller than the filter feeders above.

The whales in this group are commonly known as dolphins, even though some of them, such as Killer Whales, still bear the common name "whale". The different families of toothed whales include Sperm Whales, Narwhals and Belugas, Oceanic Dolphins, Porpoises and River Dolphins.

List of Dolphin Species

Listing by Chitika

Custom Search


What's New

Whale News!

About Us

About Using Content

You Are Secure!

[?] Subscribe To This Site

follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines

Bookmark and Share